|
Have you ever received an email from Rachel Evans of ExtraHit?
If you have a website and an email address you probably have (or
will soon). We started receiving the emails is September 2003
and found some interesting similarities to previous spam emails
we've received from TrafficMagnet and SeekCenter. Hopefully this
puts the issue to rest for our clients and anyone else who stumbles
across this page.
The email we've received so far look like this:

The Powered by ExtraHit(tm) box switches back and forth with screen
shots of the web site they're spamming.
What do we know about Rachel Evans & Extrahit.com??
-
There
is no Rachel Evans. The site is hosted by a company
called PDHost which now claims to be incorporated in the Cayman
Islands.
- Extrahit appears to be the latest in a growing line of companies
managed by PDHOST.com including SeekerCenter
and TrafficMagnet. They
have a habit of harvesting email addresses online.
- The service claims to be free, but is it really? If time is
money, they've already cost you by filling your inbox with unsolicited
emails. Now they want you to give them a username and password?
- ExtraHit is clearly spamming website owners.
Here is a link to over
400 mentions of Extrahit from other websites who've been
spammed by this company. That's impressive considering they
only set up the domain name two months ago. You'll also find
complaints about their business on Google groups under:
news.admin.net-abuse.sightings
- Never trust a company that doesn't place a physical
address or phone number on their web site.
We hope this clarifies the value of that service.
Ed Kohler is the president and founder of Haystack
In A Needle - a full service web marketing and search engine
positioning firm based in Minneapolis, MN. Ed has a rule set up
in his email program to filter trafficmagnet emails directly to
the trash.
Click here to submit a
free quote to get started on professional web marketing planning
today.
Related Articles
|